Skip to content

Complexion Perfection with Bobbi Brown

January 6, 2011

Pressed powders rarely impress me.  They set my makeup and take away unwanted shine when I’m pressed for time (pun intended).  But that’s about it.  Pressed powders don’t transform like foundation or dazzle like gloss.  They’re ancillary staples that you just have in your bag.  Kind of like those little travel packets of tissues.

But on Sunday while at Bloomingdale’s SoHo getting my brows waxed at Benefit Brow Bar (decent job but for $23 nothing to rave about other than the convenience and ease of getting an appt – I shopped for 20 minutes until it was my time to sit in the stool), I decided to check out the Sheer Finish Pressed Powder at Bobbi Brown.

And guess what?  It’s kind of amazing.  The finely-milled formula makes for a smooth, cake-free application.  With a great brush, you pick up just enough powder for your entire face with one dusting across the pan.  But be warned: because it’s so fine, it can be a little dusty like loose powder (read: if you’re on the clumsy side, be careful not to drop it…you might actually wind up loose powder – soft cakes like to break!).

But here’s where the real magic happens.  In the shade I bought – Golden Orange.  As a black woman with yellow undertones, most foundation shades are too red for me.  The goal with any foundation is to not only match your skintone, but to create the perfect canvas to add color where you want it – lids, cheeks, lips.  Since yellow minimizes redness, Golden Orange does that perfectly for me.  Pretty Powerful indeed, Bobbi.

It’s not a one-size fits all product, but it works well on a range of skin tones (I tested it at the office!).  For those of you with very fair skin, try Clinique Redness Solutions Instant Mineral Relief Powder.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jamila permalink
    January 12, 2011 10:19 am

    Thanks, I am going to give it a try!

  2. January 7, 2011 10:17 am

    Your experience has got me very intrigued! I’ll have to check it out!

Leave a Reply

