Skip to content

New Beauty

January 4, 2010

I don’t normally make New Year’s resolutions. I have had a List of Things To Do Before 30 for the past seven years that I visit and update a couple of times a year and that has suited me just fine. Except that this year, I’m turning 30 and the list keeps growing. So, I’m renaming my list (that’s another matter altogether) and have decided to establish a list of Burke’s Beauty Rules for myself.

1. Hydrate!
No beauty routine is complete without water – plain and simple. I have a cute Sigg bottle that I love but don’t want to lug around so I’ll keep that in the office. But a mini Fiji Water bottle fits perfectly in my Speedy and is as easily refillable.

2. Stop the pimple picking once and for all.
There’s something satisfying and anxiety-relieving about it. It’s one of life’s guilty pleasures. Something even a beauty expert can’t always resist. But the temptation stops here. All of my diligent skin care goes out the window with each zit I pop!

3. Get regular facials.
My at-home routine is solid but given that self-induced extractions are off the table, I need to get facials at least every other month. Everyone needs a little complexion detox and deep-pore cleansing to keep skin healthy and glowing.

4. No more anxious nail-biting (or any nail-biting for that matter).
Yes, I actually do this. Most people don’t believe I could ever be a nail-biter and I take that as a real compliment. I “quit” biting my nails five years ago after deciding at 24, “I’m too old to be biting my nails!” So, I quit. Except for when I feel overly anxious or stressed. Well, no more yo-yo nail biting!

5. Use less heat on my hair.
This one feels nearly impossible but I’m determined find a way. Starting with…steam rollers. I’ve heard great things about Caruso SalonPro Molecular Steam Hairsetter and I’m ordering it now. Can’t wait to try it and report back!

For those of you who have your own New Year’s resolutions – beauty or otherwise – good luck and remember to take it one day at a time!

Happy New Year!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 9:13 pm

    Great tips!!!! Everything is accomplishable for me except #2! I am a zit picker. I need something great to combat the dreaded zit any suggestions??????

    • January 5, 2010 9:26 pm

      Thanks! Read my post about Mario Badescu (12/16). His glycolic products will dry those zits right up. I also am a fan of Clinique Acne Solutions. For a drugstore reco, try Neutrogena Deep Clean.

      • January 5, 2010 9:51 pm

        I sure will try the Mario Badescu! I tried a similar product years ago and it was alright…so I better just try the original. By the way I use the steam rollers on Kaila’s hair all the time they are the best! I think you will love it. My only complaint is not enough rollers come with it so I had to order more from the company. Good Luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

