Skip to content

Hello Bright Eyes!

December 18, 2009

My brow and lash envy started at age 16 when I realized that my younger sister had brows perfect for waxing and lush, dark, mascara-optional lashes. And that’s how she leaves them. Meanwhile, I have perfected the art of filling in my lighter, more sparse brows and spend more time than I should curling my lashes then layering two types of mascara over a lash primer to get the serious fringe I could only dream of having naturally.

And then came Latisse. I spent about six months doing research and reading user reviews before deciding to take the plunge. Certainly, anything that suggests that it could change your eye color requires some serious due diligence. But my eyes are brown and my curiosity got the best of me. I got the prescription. I walked out of the pharmacy in triumph, with my little magic potion that was going to transform my gaze forever. Or at least until I stopped using it.

After four weeks of nightly use, I started to notice not only longer lashes but also new ones growing in. And by week seven, the little gap of lashlessness on my right eye had completely filled in and my brows were filling in beautifully (yes, I use it on my brows too). Today, after nine weeks and four days, my lashes are longer and fuller and the lash line is darker. Nearly mascara optional (although I will never part with my Shu Uemura eyelash curler). Someone actually came up to me at a friend’s holiday party and said, “your lashes look amazing! Are you using Latisse?!” The derm says I will see maximum results after 16 weeks. If that’s true, I can’t wait to see those eyes staring back at me.

Latisse is the first and only FDA approved prescription drug formulated to grow lashes.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 9:37 pm

    WOW! I might try this. I was talking to you a few years ago and you told me about the brow powder since I too have very sparse eye lashes and brows. I am a little afraid of my eye color changing though.

Leave a Reply

